Living on the edge and losing my edges

20140804-100409-36249582.jpg

So lately I’ve been living on the edge and my edges are showing it. I’ve been way too busy to properly care for my hair and the methods that I was using to care for it were not the most ideal either.

I’ve been tucking my hair away under headscarves all winter and I was struggling to get my hair to retain enough moisture but the biggest mistake I made last week was stretching my hair using the banding method… It just pushed my already flaying hair over the edge. Eish πŸ™ˆ

In my frustration I decided to get a protective style so I got Marley twists.
But as I was researching best practice for installing Marley braids I ran across other natural hair topics and I’ve learnt (or rather re-learned) things about my hair. One, I have high porosity hair and two I have low density hair and I believe it’s genetic because despite the last month I’d been doing things mostly “right” so far since my BC. At first I was distraught a bit sad that this is my lot in life 😱 but thank goodness that there is actually hope to manage my porosity and density even though it means I have to baby my hair as long as I have it. In my next post I’ll talk more about how I’m managing my high porosity.

Oh well, such is life hey?

I’ll leave you with a pic of my new do, for more follow me on Instagram @princessofee πŸ˜‰

20140805-214515-78315960.jpg

2 thoughts on “Living on the edge and losing my edges

  1. Those poor edges 😦 A little extra love is all they need tho. I have come to accept that my hairline is just what it is *sigh* but I do try to take extra special care of them πŸ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

